Beautiful Mind, Beautiful Life

Image

Last year I read a book that changed my life, because it changed my mind-set. I am amazed every single day by the effect it has had on my life and I feel it is my duty to share my story with everyone I can, to encourage each and every one of you reading this to do the same.

The book is called The Magic and it is based on the teachings of The Secret. I wanted to share the message with you, because each of us has the power to change our lives for the better, just through changing our thoughts and the way we look at the world.

In a nutshell, the book tells you that in order to have the life you want all you have to do is change your thoughts. Make the shift to positive thinking, be grateful for what you have and even for the things you don’t yet have.

The book gives you exercises to do every day for 28 days, which teach you to make gratitude a habit in your life. Yes, these exercises can become tedious at times, but they teach you to be grateful for everything in life – even something as small as the sunshine on a cold day.

The author explains that if you thank the universe/God/Buddah/Allah (or whoever you might believe in) every day for the things you already have, and the things that you most deeply desire, you send out a positive frequency into the universe that then attracts these things to you. This is the law of attraction, which is what The Secret teaches you.

The law of attraction works with your thoughts and your energies, attracting to you those things that you most often think about and believe.

For example, if you wake up in the morning and say to yourself “Ah, today is going to be a bad day, I just have too much to do and I can’t get through it all,” the universe picks up these frequencies and draws to you that which you are thinking. So, yes, you will have a bad day and feel daunted and crushed by all your responsibilities.

But, if you wake up and think to yourself “Today will be a good day. I have a lot to do, but I know I can get through it if I focus,” you draw the positive energies of the universe to yourself, and you premeditate a great day for yourself.

If you then add, “Thank you universe for a good day today, and that I could get everything done,” you close the deal on the great day you are about to have.

Now, in the beginning you do feel silly being grateful for things that haven’t happened yet, which is why the book tells you to close your eyes and imagine yourself with the things you are wishing for. This helps you to truly be able to feel that gratitude.

Eventually, it becomes a habit. Every morning and afternoon in the car ride to and from work, you begin to thank the universe for all the good things that happened during the day and for all the good things that will continue to happen.

If you are still rolling your eyes, let me give you some insight into my situation.

Before I read that book I was a negative person. Of course at the time I didn’t realise it, but I really was. I played the victim of my circumstances, and I was a slave to those things that had happened to me in the past. I felt trapped by my resent, anger and hatred.

Little did I know that the more I felt sorry for myself, the more I attracted the things I loathed so much. In the words of Sade, every day I thought, “I wonder if this grief will ever let me go”, until I realised it was me who had to let go of the grief. I was a prisoner and only I could free myself.

After I read The Magic, I started looking further into positive thinking, reading sites including positive-thoughts.typaped.com, and reading up on it wherever I could. (Which I still do, every day)

More and more I realised I was the one to blame for how miserable I was, because we are not what has happened to us, we are what we choose to become. For too long I was a prisoner of my own mind, but from that moment I knew those days were over.

Positive thinking changed my life, so much so that in September I even got a tattoo dedicated to the change I had made. It features a bird being freed from a cage along with the words “Free Yourself”. That was the day I promised myself I would never go back to my old way of thinking and living, I had freed myself of the negativity, the anger, the hurt, the pain, the rage and the sadness.

Every time I see my tattoo, it is a reminder of how far I have come from those days.

So here is the really amazing part of my story. One of the first exercises in The Magic was to write down all the things you wanted in your life. I wrote down these things: A promotion, a more creative job, a new car, a better relationship with my mom and my boyfriend, travel, more money and a happier and more positive mind.

Since the day I wrote those things down I have received every single one of them.

I was promoted and that featured a raise, I received a car for my birthday, I am now going to see London for the first time in August and attending the Reading music festival with my two best friends, I was offered a new job, things with my boyfriend have never been better, and my mom and I are getting along far better than we did in the past.

I sincerely believe that changing my mind-set to a positive one was what brought all these amazing things into my life, and I want everyone in the world to know how powerful positivity is.

I found that notebook the other day, where I had written all my exercises from The Magic, and I could hardly believe my eyes when I saw all the things I had asked for. I was overcome by emotions.

I am saddened by how many people I know who are still stuck in bad situations because they cannot change their mind-sets, or rather they won’t. They say they try, but it’s too hard.

NO!! I was one of the most negative people I know, and now people compliment me all the time on the change I have made. One of my friends, Felicia, told me she could literally see the change in me, that I radiate the positive energy.

Obviously, it is impossible to suddenly only have lovely, flowery thoughts in your mind at the drop of a hat. The point is, when you have a negative thought you should realise it is a negative thought, pay attention to why you had that thought and then change it to a positive thought.

It is hard in the beginning, but eventually it becomes a habit and you are able to change every thought you have into a positive one.

I am not saying that if you say “Thank you universe for the million rand in my bank account” every day, one day you will wake up and miraculously a million rand is in your account (trust me, I have tried). However, if you really desire that and you are grateful for it, the universe will open doors and create opportunities for you, which will eventually lead you to the success which you desire.

I want to share this knowledge with as many people as I can, and I hope that through my story you will consider the immense power of positivity and the way it could change your life.

Read positive thinking sites, read testimonials, watch The Secret, read The Magic, do whatever you can to make positive thinking and gratitude a part of your every day life. I promise you, you will never, ever regret it. Ever!

Love and light friends, Namaste ❤

9 thoughts on “Beautiful Mind, Beautiful Life

  1. Gia, what a thoughtful and honest piece! I think everyone can take something from your post.

    I believe most people struggle with this one way or another – some more than others.
    The effective power of positive thinking has been proved time and time again – so why don’t people use it? It’s a free tool that is available to everyone – no credit card needed!

    I can speak for myself on this one – I know what power lies in positive thinking – yet I struggle to use it in my own life. Why? Because it requires damn hard work and effort. (I’m not afraid to admit my tendency to give up when things get tough).
    I can keep it up for a few days/weeks but then my good intentions fall by the wayside.

    This doesn’t mean that I won’t stop trying! I think we all owe it to ourselves to be better people, to improve and to be kinder to ourselves.

    Anything worthwhile in life requires hard work…changing your thought pattern will be hard work, but it will be worth it!

    I can just imagine how light you must feel, freeing yourself from those heavy, self-sabotaging chains! Wow!

    You have shown that it can be done – well done cuz!

    1. Beautifully said Mich.

      It most defintely requires hard work and determination, but the rewards far outweigh the difficulties.

      I have days where I struggle too, but the most important thing is to keep trying. Fall seven times, stand up eight.

      I hope my story inspires people to try and proves it can be done.

      Thank you for the kind words, and I am always here when you need some help.

      Love you, thank you. Xxx

  2. What a powerful and heartfelt message you just put out into the universe! I am definetly going to ask to lend these books!
    I am very proud of you. And AMANDLA FOR THE STRUGGLE!!! mAYBE WE SHOULD MAKE YOU THE NEXT mADIBA!!!
    Seriously though very well written and a brave girl to put out there. I will definetly follow your blog!!

  3. Thank you for sharing this. I’m currently reading the Magic and hoping for miraculous changes in my life too (actually, some of them already happened 🙂 Wish you best of luck and positivity!

Leave a Reply

