Friends – the sunshine of life <3

Friendship.

Image

Lately I have begun to realise that this word has a million different meanings, depending who and where. Perhaps being an only child, I place friendship in a higher regard than most, because I grow very fond of those who I deem friends.

Let me start by saying that I don’t easily open myself up to people. Of course I have a lot of people I know, and like very much, but that’s not to say they are my ‘friend’ in the sense of the word.

To me, a friend is someone who knows all your faults as well as your strengths, and appreciates you for that. A friend is someone who is always willing to tell you the truth, no matter how much it’s going to hurt you or upset you, because that’s what is best for you. A friend is someone who loves you and is there for you, always. A friend is someone you know you can lean on, or turn to, with absolutely anything. Friends are soul mates.

In my eyes, friendship also means loyalty and respect. A friend is always loyal to you, no matter the situation. A friend also respects you and your beliefs, and even when you disagree, does not lose that respect.

I believe friendship is one of the most beautiful gifts we have as human beings, and I realise this more and more the older I get. When I was younger, it was always important to have as many friends as possible. Everyone was everyone’s best friend, but they would smile in your face and talk behind your back. There was no value placed on friendship by the masses, and this ended up disappointing and hurting people who believed in true friendship.

As I grew older, I realised that the cliché was true: it is more important to have a few true friends than it is to have a hundred fake ones.

Luckily, I learned who my true friends were (sometimes the hard way) and now I hold those people close to my heart and make sure I treasure them, every day.

I am also fortunate enough to keep making new friends everywhere I go, which is awesome. I attribute this to the positive attitude I have acquired, not only towards people but also towards life in general. If you open your energies to the universe, you will attract the most amazing people, events and happenings into your life. Sometimes your soul mates can be found in the most unexpected places, but the connection you share with these people cannot be mistaken.

I am fiercely protective of my friends, love them (sometimes a little too much) and respect them for the amazing individuals they are and the great things that they have each brought into my life.

I am at a stage in my life where I feel happier than I have ever been, and I think the amazing friendships I share have a lot to do with this. Friendship brings happiness and sunshine into our lives, makes the good times better and the hard times easier to bear. Friends are the stars in the night sky for me, the sisters and brothers I never had.

Although we may not see one another every day, talk every day or go out together every weekend (working life, meh) I carry my friends with me wherever I go. I am content in the knowledge that they love and treasure me as much as I do them, and we will always share a special bond. When I do spend time with them, it is always as if no time has passed at all.

Never forget who your friends are. Show appreciation for them as often as possible, and always let them know how much you love them. Don’t neglect them. If need be, apologise to them and mean it. Tell them that you miss them, and let go of old grudges. Be grateful for the great friends you may have found, no matter how few or how many. True friendship is something to be treasured and appreciated always.

Image

Life is short, so I just want to take this moment to thank my friends (and you know who you are) for being there for me always. New and old, you guys truly make my life worth living.

Image

4 thoughts on “Friends – the sunshine of life <3

  1. Wow, I really enjoy reading this. Partly because I think I could relate to who you are. I also don’t open myself easily to people but I realised that I am very blessed to be surrounded by friends wherever I go. Be a friend you want to have, that’s what I think… Thanks for posting this.

  2. BEAUTIFUL WORDS SINCERLEY WRITTEN FROM THE HEART!!!!
    NOOOWWW HOW ABOUT A PIECE WRITTEN ON MOTHERS!!!!!????

  3. I WILL START IT OFF FOR YOU………………………
    GOD COULD NOT BE EVERYWHERE SO HE MADE MOTHERS. – RUGARD KIPLING

Leave a Reply

