Who Are You?

“Who are you?”

So, during the last two years that I have been going through a positive self-transformation, I have asked myself about a million and three times: who am I?

I am sure that at one point in our lives, all of us have wondered who we are. Now I am not talking about your job, your role in the community, your role in your family, etc. I mean who are you really? Who are you when you are alone, when nobody is watching, when you are one with yourself?

For most of us, I think it is an extremely hard question to answer. Not because we don’t know who we are, or because we haven’t decided, but because the answer is that we are constantly changing, evolving with the world and the universe we live in.

Though many of us don’t know it, or choose not to believe it, we are all connected. We are the universe and the universe is us.

Image

Of course, as individuals, we all have our own morals and values, we have beliefs and we make decisions using these elements. This is what often divides us, or sets us apart from one another. I am all for individuality, by no way am I saying we are all like drones created for one purpose; I like to believe we all have our own purposes and reasons for being here.

But, for the most part, as the human race there is more that holds us together than could ever divide us, the problem is that so many people are unaware of this, or choose not to see or believe it.

I read a quote the other day that was the inspiration for this blog post:

You are the books you read, the films you watch, the music you listen to, the people you meet, the dreams you have and the conversations you engage in. You are what you take form these. You are the sound of the ocean, the breath of fresh air, the brightest light and the darkest corner. You are a collective of every experience you have had in your life. You are every single second of every single day. So, drown yourself in a sea of knowledge and existence. Let the words run through your veins and let the colours fill your mind.

I LOVE THIS QUOTE! I adore it. (Also, I adore the other four quotes in this post in the form of the pictures, please take note of them.)

Image

I guess what I am trying to say is that we should stop trying to define ourselves by the limited barriers that we do. You are not what has happened to you, you are not the mistakes you have made or the things that you have been called. You are your own creation. Every single day is a new chance for you to make of yourself that which you most desire. You are a beautiful being, an amazing creation, and that which you most desire for yourself is within your reach, because we are the universe. We will draw that which we immerse ourselves in.

Another quote I love is: You are not a drop in the ocean, you are the whole ocean in one drop!

We need to realise the power we harness as human beings, and use this power for the better. We need to look past all the disappointments, mistakes, and generally shitty things that can take place in this life time, and realise what an amazing miracle life is, and how much we can be and do in this time we have.

Image

It saddens me that I have only come to this realisation in recent years, but rather now than later. Start today, make today the best day of your life and do it again tomorrow, the next day and the next.

Image

Go outside, close your eyes, and breathe in. Open your eyes and look round you. What a joy it is to be alive, this life is ours to live – GO AND LIVE IT.

2 thoughts on “Who Are You?

  1. I went outside, closed my eyes, opened them and bam!!! I realised I am the creator of this child of the univerese!! Who is giving us all the amazing inspirations and who is looking deep in side her being to know who she is! I tell you who you are ….you are a child of the King – God, so you are a princess. My princess, and I am very proud of you and all your philosphies.

Leave a Reply

