Rainy Days and New Beginnings

So I’m sitting on my bed with my laptop handy, getting ready to watch some New Girl. I am accompanied only by the sound of the rain outside, which happens to be one of my favourite sounds in the world. So much so that it inspired me to do some writing for the evening, which you are reading right now…..

Pluviophile (n) – A lover of rain; someone who finds joy and peace of mind during rainy days. May as well just call me Pluviophile from now on, maybe Pluvi for short?

Image

If you do not live in Johannesburg, let me set the scene for you: The rain began on Saturday afternoon and, basically, hasn’t stopped since then. The rainfall has been swapping between the pitter-patter of tiny raindrops, rain that is so fine you feel a drop now and then but you don’t actually get wet, and the rain that comes down so hard you wonder if it will ever stop.

Now, for many people out there this is the worst way one could have spent a weekend – wet, cold and miserable. For those of you who feel the way I do – Pluviophiles if you will – there is nothing better than falling asleep to the sound of the rain, except maybe waking up to the same sound.

For some reason the rain makes me feel rejuvenated, renewed. I feel almost cleansed when I go outside and breathe in that just-rained smell in the air. Also, there is nothing I hate more than being hot, so a break from the heat of Spring suits me just fine. Standing outside on the balcony, just over looking the cloudy sky as the drops fall down with the cool wind blowing is one of my favourite things to do on a rainy day. The rain-induced goosebumps are more than welcome.

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I understand why people aren’t mad about the rain when they have somewhere to go or things to do.  I understand why people aren’t fans of being drenched and cold. But somehow, I have learned to enjoy the feeling of the rain on my skin. And if it’s really pouring, I use an umbrella. Also, rain is an excuse for more cups of tea, more reading, more cuddles and more New Girl!

The rainy weekend also meant that I could finally wear the Wellies I bought in England in August, which made me feel all nostalgic about my trip and Reading Festival.

Image

Anyway, Pluviophile or no Pluviophile, all you can do is learn to find a positive in the rain. Learn to love the smell of the air after the rain; the way the roads look when it’s just rained; the ripples in the puddles as they fill more and more; or at least the rainbow that comes after the storm.

Image

Make the most of it. Let it make you feel a little more human. A little more alive. Let it remind you of your vulnerability, or of the fact that every day is a second chance for you to wash the slate clean. Let the sound of the rain as you fall asleep this evening wash away the stress of Monday, and start fresh tomorrow – according to the weather the sun should be back then.

Image

Love and Light,

Gia.

2 thoughts on “Rainy Days and New Beginnings

  1. I TOO LOVE THE RAIN! MY MOTHER WOULD NOT LET US GO TO THE POOL IN SUMMER WHEN WE WERE YOUNGER UNTIL IT RAINED!!! OH BOY AND DID WE WHINE UNTIL IT DID! THE RAIN WAS THE BEGINNING OF SUMMER FOR US. PATTERSON PARK SWIMMING POOL, THE FUFFY SLIDES, RAW BUMS FROM SLIDING SOO MUCH AND THE FIRST SAW RED SUNTANS! HOW I MISS THOSE CAREFREE DAYS! IT ALSO REMINDS ME OF COLOURING IN BOOKS AND MAKING MY MOM THE UMTEENTH CUP OF CHA!! MY BROTHER AND SISTER RUNNING AROUND THE DINNING ROOM TABLE AND WRESTLING.
    IT’S AMAZING HOW WE ALL HAVE DIFFERENT MEMORIES AND COMFORTS FROM THE RAIN.
    ALSO IT REMINDS ME OF THE PINO COLADA SONG…..
    ” LOVE PINO COLADA…..
    i love walking in the rain……………
    THANKS FOR THE SROLL DOWN MEMORY LANE!!!!

Leave a Reply

