Inspiration

Inspiration: Noun

1. The process of being mentally stimulated to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

2. A sudden brilliant or timely idea.

Hi Lovelies,

Given the name of my blog, and my dreams of inspiring people, I decided it would be apt to discuss the idea of inspiration, what it means to me and why it’s such an important part of my life.

Image

So, beside the definition of inspiration quoted at the beginning of this post, I’ve taken some time to think about what inspiration means to me.

I believe we can be inspired by almost anything – a smell, a sight, a new country, a thought, a person, a word, a song, a book, an image, the look in someone’s eyes when they look at us; the list goes on. What’s important is not where the inspiration comes from, but rather how it makes us feel, or what it inspires within us.

As a writer, it is in my nature to want to inspire people. I want to inspire people to be better human beings, to have compassion and hearts full of love. I want to inspire people to find the good (no matter how small) in this world full of hatred and negativity. I want to inspire people to travel, to explore and to be inspired (if that makes any sense). In a nutshell, I want to inspire people to find things that inspire them.

I feel that it is one of the most important things in life to be inspired. Why? Well, because life is hard. Sometimes the sadness and negativity in this world can get you down, and you just feel like you’ll never be able to pick yourself up. We’ve all been there. But life is also beautiful. At the end of the day, it’s all we really have. If you’re not inspired by anything, it’s too easy to fall into the trap of a negative mind-set.

Image

Inspiration gives us a glimmer of hope, because it reminds us that we’re human by making us feel alive. It gives us that indescribable feeling, and awakens our soul. It helps us to find the good in the world, which is so clear and evident to those who are searching for it. There’s something for us all.

I’m inspired daily. By the wonderful people in my life, by my own writing and that of others, by music, by art and laughter. Travelling to London last year August with 2 of my best friends inspired me like nothing before. The sights, smells and sounds of a new city just stirred such a thirst in my soul. A thirst for more. Even though I had never been before, as soon as I saw the city, I felt like I was home. And it’s my plan to go back, and to stay for a while. What I’d really love is the job of Rachel Khoo – cook and food writer, living in and drawing inspiration from the sights and tastes of London.

Now I am veering off topic (sorry). The point of this blog post is to encourage you to find something that inspires you each and every day. Not just something that makes you go “Oh, that’s cool,” but something that makes your mind wild with ideas, and your heart full of excitement. Nothing brilliant ever came from someone saying, “Nah, that’ll never work. I should tine down my crazy ideas.”

Image

And, I’d like you to share those things that inspire you, with me.

Love and light, lovelies,

It’s almost Friday (maybe that’ll inspire you).

Xxx

Gia.

4 thoughts on “Inspiration

  1. I AGREE WE NEED TO BE INSPIRED. FOR MANY YEARS MY INSPIRATION WAS TO MAKE MONEY TO BE ABLE TO SEE YOU BE THE WRITER YOU ARE TODAY. SO I AM INSPIRED EVERY TIME I SEE YOU BLOSSOM. NOW THAT I HAVE THE TIME TO DO THINGS MY INSPIRATION HAS COME FROM ART AND I NOW LOOK AT THINGS WITH DIFFERENT EYES.
    I LOOK AT THE TEXTURE, THE HEIGHTS THE FLOW OF THINGS THAT I WOULD NEVER HAVE LOOKED AT BEFORE. NOW I WANT TO GO AND MAKE FAERIES IN POLYMERE CLAY WHICH I HAVE WANTED TO DO SINCE I WAS A CHILD.
    BUT YOU MY CHILD INSPIRE ME EVERY DAY WITH YOUR BEAUTIFUL MIND!!!
    SIGNED: PROUD MOMMY!!!

  2. Inspiration is the Definition of you My G* Here’s a little something that inspired me when i feel out of sorts like we all can at times :

    At Times the world may seem a unfriendly and sinister place, but believe that there is more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough. And what might seem like a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a beautiful Journey…

    Love & Light ❤

Leave a Reply

